

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

March 14, 2011

Mr. Eric J. Epstein 4100 Hillsdale Rd. Harrisburg, PA 17112

SUBJECT: DELAY IN TRANSMITTAL OF DIRECTOR'S DECISION

Dear Mr. Epstein:

Your petition dated September 30, 2010 addressed to Stephen Burns, Office of the General Counsel, is currently being reviewed by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission staff pursuant to 10 CFR 2.206 of the Commission's Regulations. This letter is to inform you that the due date for the final Director's Decision has been delayed from March 11, 2011, to May 13, 2011. The delay is necessary to complete the technical review and accommodate the required Petitioner/licensee draft Director's Decision review. NRC expects to provide you, and the licensee, the proposed Director's Decision by April 8, 2011, for your review and comment.

Please feel free to contact John Buckley at 301-415-6607 to discuss any questions related to this petition.

Sincerely,

Larry W. Camper, Director

Division of Waste Management and Environmental Protection

Office of Federal and State Materials

and Environmental Management Programs

Docket No.: 50-320

cc: TMI-2 Service List

Mr. James H. Lash President & Chief Nuclear Officer FirstEnergy Corporation 76 South Main Street Akron, OH 44308

Mr. Eric Epstein EFMR Monitoring Group 4100 Hillsdale Road Harrisburg, PA 17112

Mr. Wythe Keever The Patriot 812 Market Street Harrisburg, PA 17105

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region III Office ATTN: Mr. B. Hoffman EIS Coordinator 3ES30 1650 Arch Street Philadelphia, PA 17103

Ms. Jane Lee 183 Valley Road Etters, PA 17319

Mr. Walter W. Cohen, Consumer Advocate Department of Justice Strawberry Square, 14<sup>th</sup> Floor Harrisburg, PA 17127

Mr. Mark E. Ford Manager PDMS Exelon Generation Company LLC P.O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. Jerome Boyd PDMS Supervisor Exelon Generation Company LLC P.O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. Bill Noll Site Vice President, TMI-1 Exelon Generation Company LLC P.O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mr. David W. Jenkins, Esq. First Energy Legal Department 76 South Main St. Akron, OH 44308 Chairperson
Dauphin County Board of Commissioners
Dauphin County Courthouse
Front and Market Streets
Harrisburg, PA 17120

Mr. Ad Crable Lancaster New Era 8 West King Street Lancaster, PA 17601

Director
Bureau of Radiation Protection
Department of Environmental Protection
13<sup>th</sup> Floor, Rachel Carson State Office Bldg.
P. O. Box 8469
Harrisburg, PA 17105-8469

Senior Resident Inspector (TMI-1) U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P.O. Box 311 Middletown, PA 17057

Dr. Judith H. Johnsrud Environmental Coalition on Nuclear Power 433 Orlando Avenue State College, PA 16803-3477

Mr. Dave Atherholt Site Regulatory Assurance Manager, TMI-1 Exelon Generation Company LLC P. O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Mrs. Karen Fili Vice President GPU Nuclear Fleet Oversight 76 South Main Street Akron, OH 44308

Mr. Michael J. Casey GPU Nuclear Responsible Engineer TMI-2 FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Mail Stop: A-GO-14 76 South Main Street Akron, OH 44308